Historic Richmond Town

richmond town NY

A farm and town complex on Staten Island, New York, Historic Richmond Town preserves more than two dozen buildings, many of which date back to the 17th century. The historic area was recognized to be in need of conservation by local Staten Island residents and established the official park in 1958. Currently, the park covers 100 acres with 15 restored buildings and even more historic landmarks.

Staten Island's history lives on in this incredible living museum site. Originally, what is now Richmondtown was called Coccles Town, named for the prevalence of oysters and clams in the nearby waterways. In 1728, the area was renamed and continued to build as an active community forming Richmond County, New York.

Like the similar living history complex, Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Richmond Town aims to educate visitors by showcasing the past in an enthralling, personal venue. People feel as if they're truly traveling into the past as they are led by costumed guides in character, watch demonstrations of 18th century household chores and skills, and tour restored landmark buildings. Visit the Voorlezer's House, considered to be the oldest standing elementary school house in the U.S. built in 1695, or the 1740 Dutch farm house, the Guyon-Lake-Tysen House. Many other historic homes and buildings, including churches and a courthouse, are open and available for tours during the park's regular schedule.